The Welsh Assembly Government is today encouraging people to nominate health professionals for a major UK-wide award aimed at highlighting their contribution to the care of armed services personnel.

The awards are now in the second year and this year they are hosted by the Scottish Government.

Scotland's Public Health Minister Shona Robison and UK Defence Secretary John Hutton will launch the awards today inviting people to nominate heath professionals to be recognised for the care provided to armed forces personnel while on duty or when they have returned home.

Welsh Health Minister Edwina Hart - who also has responsibility to veterans within the Assembly Government - said the awards will publicly recognise the efforts of and care provided by staff to current members of the army, navy and RAF, veterans and their dependents.

Edwina Hart said: "Our service men and women do an outstanding job and we all owe them a debt of gratitude and duty of care, particularly those who have developed health problems as a result of their military service.

"The health service has long worked closely with the Ministry of Defence to ensure that the men and women of the armed services receive care and support when they need it.

"The awards will showcase the hard work and dedication of a range of health professionals from the public, private and voluntary sector and I would encourage people to consider nominating either themselves or others for these awards to recognise their contribution to care for men and women in the armed services."

The Chief Nursing Officer for Wales, Rosemary Kennedy was a colonel in the Territorial Army and is Colonel Commandant in the Queen Alexandra's Royal Army Nursing Corps.

She said: "The awards recognise the partnership and collaboration which exists between the NHS and Defence Medical Service in mutual support to care for military personnel and the training and leadership development opportunities for all healthcare professionals."


The awards are open to military or civilian members of the Defence Medical Services, NHS or independent sector healthcare professionals who, either on an individual or team basis, have benefitted the care of a members) of the Armed Forces. This includes veterans or their dependants. The eight categories are:

Innovation in Service Development Award
Education and Training Award
Deployed Healthcare Award
Health Improvement and Promotion Award
Mental Health Award
Healthcare Reservist of the Year
Care of Veterans Award
Team of the Year Award: Military and Civilian Health Partnership Award

Nominations for the awards close on Friday June 26th 2009. Entrants can be self-nominated or entered by patients, colleagues or members of the public.

The Military and Civilian Health Partnership Awards ceremony will take place on October 29, 2009 at Hopetoun Edinburgh.

Further information on the health partnership awards, including how to apply or nominate, can be found at militarycivilianhealthawards

Welsh Assembly Government

Tag Cloud